Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )

12»»

Windows photo Viewer cannot open pictures Expand / Collapse
Author

New MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew MemberNew Member

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 10/18/2010 4:49 PM
Hello, I am new with Windows 7, I installed it fresh on new drives. It is Windows 7 Professional, fully updated with latest downloads. For some reasons, I cannot open any pictures with the Windows Photo Viewer, it always tells me that:
"Windows Photo Viewer can<t open this picture because you don't have the correct permissions to access the file location"

I understant the message, it is clear but I tried everything I know, permission, ownership, location (USB Key, CD, HDD) and I always get the same error message. I con open them with Paint, the Office Viewer or any other tool.

Is there anyone that knows what I can try?

Thanks
  Post #258922

Posted 10/18/2010 5:05 PM

Forum Administrator

Forum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum AdministratorForum Administrator

Group: Administrators
Last Login: 8/9/2008 6:13 AM
Permissions in Windows 7 can be finicky and arbitrary.

Download and install the take ownership context menu add in (http://www.blogsdna.com/2173/add-take-ownership-option-in-right-click-context-menu-of-windows-7.htm).

Then use it to take ownership of the folder(s) containing the pictures and let's see if that helps.

Post #258923

Posted 10/19/2010 1:11 AM

Senior Forum Moderator

Senior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum ModeratorSenior Forum Moderator

Group: Moderators
Last Login: 8/9/2008 10:14 AM
Windows Photo Viewer can't open this picture because you don't have the correct permissions to access the file location.

Post #258924